Get started with the Azure Australia Central Regions

The mission-critical cloud for Australian and New Zealand government and critical national infrastructure organizations

Accelerate your digital transformation

Migrating mission-critical workloads to the cloud is a big decision. Learn how the Azure Australia Central Regions are designed to meet your most demanding requirements and help you modernize on your terms.


Not all clouds are created equal

Modernize your mission-critical applications and speed cloud adoption with specially designed security, resiliency, colocation, and connectivity capabilities. Microsoft has partnered with Canberra Data Centres to deliver unique cloud regions tailored to the needs of Australian and New Zealand government and critical national infrastructure commercial organizations.

Read the whitepaper

Understand your eligibility

The Azure Australia Central Regions are designed to support the mission-critical needs of Australian and New Zealand government and critical infrastructure organizations and their suppliers. We recognize critical infrastructure according to the following Australian federal, state, and territory government definition:

“Those physical facilities, operations, supply chains, information technologies, and communication networks, which, if destroyed, degraded, or rendered unavailable for an extended period, would significantly impact on the social or economic well-being of the nation or affect capability to maintain continuity in the operation of government, public safety, public health, and the conduct of national defense and national security.”
(Australian Government Critical Infrastructure Resilience Strategy)

Ten principal sectors of government and critical infrastructure in Australia and New Zealand include:

Banking and finance
Banks, financial, and insurance institutions, as well as financial regulatory agencies.
Telecommunications, broadcasting, international submarine cable, and postal sectors, along with communications functions from relevant federal, state, and territory agencies.
Energy generators, suppliers, and distributors. Owners and operators of major Australian water companies, including cleaning, distribution, and sanitation.
Owners and operators of infrastructure in the food supply chain, including food processing, distribution, and sale.
Facilities and services that support public health, including hospitals, clinics, emergency response, and medical supply distribution, as well as public health functions of relevant federal, state, and territory agencies.
Owners and operators of airlines, airports, ports, shipping companies, buses, trains, trams, trucking, and freight service providers, plus the federal, state, and territory agencies managing public transport.
Organizations that provide the essential services to operate space-based systems and technologies, such as satellites.
Federal and state government
Agencies that maintain the continuity and operations of government, including legislative functions, social services, emergency services, central administration, and other essential functions of government.
Public safety and order
Federal and state government agencies that perform policing, justice, and incarceration.
Defense, national security, and intelligence
Federal government agencies responsible for national security, national defense, and domestic and foreign intelligence.

Australian and New Zealand customers in these sectors and their suppliers can request to subscribe within the Azure Australia Central Regions.

Have questions?

We’re happy to provide more information about available services, security capabilities, and controls—and how the Azure Australia Central Regions can address your mission-critical needs.