Azure Traffic Manager will stop automatically enabling, disabling or deleting endpoints for Azure Cloud Services on 1st May 2019

Posted on 18 April 2019

Target availability: Q2 2019

Currently, Azure Traffic Manager can automatically enable, disable or delete endpoints when starting, stopping or deleting the corresponding cloud service. However, this option will be retired on 1st May 2019 and you will need to manually enable, disable or delete profile endpoints in Traffic Manager when starting, stopping or deleting a cloud service. You will continue to be billed for the endpoints unless they are manually disabled or deleted.

This change does not affect any other Azure Traffic Manager feature or functionality. Azure Traffic Manager will continue to probe the Azure Cloud Services endpoints and steer traffic based on endpoint health as usual. Apart from the changes described above, you can continue to use Azure Traffic Manager with Azure Cloud Services normally. 

This change only affects the profile endpoint of type “Azure endpoint” when the target resource type is “cloud service.” All other endpoint types will continue to work normally. This is an example of an affected endpoint shown in Traffic Manager:

Recommended action

No immediate action is required. However, if you stop or delete a cloud service permanently after 1st May 2019, make sure you disable or delete the corresponding endpoints in your Traffic Manager profiles. Manually disabling or deleting the endpoints will be necessary to avoid being billed for unused endpoints after stopping or deleting a cloud service. Note that failure to implement this recommendation will not cause an outage for your cloud services or affect the distribution of traffic to your cloud service endpoints.

Read more about Azure endpoints and managing endpoints in Traffic Manager. As a best practice, you can consider setting up alerts for the status of your traffic manager endpoints.

  • Traffic Manager
  • Cloud Services
  • Services
  • Retirements