• 2 min read

Adding offerings and UK Region: Azure rolls deep with PCI DSS v3.2

Go here to download Azure’s Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) v3.2 Attestation of Compliance (AoC)!

Azure rolls deep with PCI DSS v3.2

Check out our AoC

Go here to download Azure’s Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) v3.2  Attestation of Compliance (AoC)! When it comes to enabling customers who want or need to operate in a cloud environment AND also need to adhere to the global standards designed to prevent credit card fraud, they need look no further than Azure. 

Why put off until 2018 what you can do today?

When it comes to security and compliance, we are always ready to act. The DSS v3.2 contains several requirements that don’t take effect until January 2018, and while it is possible to get a v3.2 certification without meeting these future requirements, Azure has already adopted them and is currently compliant with all new requirements!

UK, too!

Azure has also added the UK region to our list of PCI-certified datacenters, while expanding coverage within previously certified regions around the world. A new version of our PCI Responsibility Matrix will be released shortly, keep an eye out for that announcement coming soon.

More services = More options for customers

Azure has again increased the coverage of our attestation to keep up with customer needs and we continue to be unmatched amongst Cloud Service Providers in the depth and breadth of offerings with PCI DSS v3.2. A sample of the services added in this attestation include:

Note: Refer to the latest AoC for the full list of services and regions covered. 

AoC FAQs and Highlights

Why does the AoC say “April 2016”?

The front page and footer of the AoC says “April 2016”.  This is the date that the template was published by the PCI SSC, it is not the date of our AoC.  Many customers get confused by this, but we are not able to modify the AoC template. Refer to page 76 of the AoC for the date it was actually signed and issued. 

How should I interpret the service listing in the AoC?

We have received feedback in the past that it was difficult to understand what services were covered in the AoC. This was mainly because the services were listed under the groupings and internal names our Qualified Security Assessor (QSA) used for the assessment, along with the fact that many services got re-branded shortly after our 2015 AoC was released.

We incorporated that feedback in the release of our 2016 AoC, and have again updated the service listing in the 2017 AoC to reflect the current set of Azure offerings. Please be aware that if an Azure service is re-branded we are not able to retroactively update the AoC.  If you have questions about the status of an Azure service, please contact Azure support or your TAM. 

Why isn’t Azure assessed as a “Shared Hosting Provider”?

The shared hosting provider designation in PCI DSS is for situations where multiple customers are being hosted on a single server, but doesn’t take into account hosting of isolated virtualized environments.  An example of shared hosting is if a service provider was hosting multiple customer websites on a single physical web server. In that situation, there is no segregation between the customer environments. Azure is not considered a shared hosting provider for PCI because customer VMs and environments are segregated and isolated from each other. So changes made to “Customer X’s” VM does not affect “Customer Y’s” VM, even under the scenario that both VMs are hosted on the same physical host.