How can I check that I have properly stopped a virtual machine and that I am not being billed for it?

You can check the status of your virtual machines in the Virtual Machines tab and also in the virtual machine Dashboard. If virtual machine status says "Stopped," you are still being billed. Only "Stopped (Deallocated)" indicates you are not being billed. To ensure you are not being billed, always stop virtual machines from the management portal. You can also stop the virtual machine through Powershell by calling ShutdownRoleOperation with "PostShutdownAction" equal to "StoppedDeallocated".

Virtual Machines

Related questions and answers

  • A temporary disk is storage that is attached directly to the deployed VM. Data on a temporary disk is lost once the VM is shut down. If you need persistent storage, there are a number of types and sizes of persistent data disks available that are charged separately. Please see storage pricing for information. For persistent VM storage, we recommend that you use Managed Disks to take advantage of better management features, scalability, availability and security.

  • Yes, through licence mobility, if you have Software Assurance you can "bring-your-own-licence" for all Virtual Machines supported server products.

  • Learn how to configure autoscale.