What does it mean to upgrade my subscription?

Your Azure free account starts with a free trial subscription, and you get a USD200 credit that acts as a spending limit—that is, in the first 30 days, any usage of resources beyond the free products and quantities will be deducted from the USD200 credit or 30 days have expired (whichever happens first), you’ll have to upgrade to a pay-as-you-go Azure subscription. This automatically removes the spending limit so you can continue to get access to all the free products included in the free account. With the spending limit removed, you pay for what you use beyond the free amounts and this is charged to the card you provided.

Related questions and answers

  • All APIs in the S1 tier are charged at a flat rate of $5 per 1,000 transactions. Learn more about Azure Maps pricing

  • You can change the configuration of your Azure Maps account at any time. For instructions on how to make changes in the Azure portal, please see the documentation on managing the pricing tier of your Azure Maps account.

  • Microsoft is committed to ensuring your privacy. When you sign up for Azure using GitHub, the profile information that’s requested is used to check for the presence of an existing Microsoft account and to create a new account if needed. Once your information enters the Microsoft ecosystem, it’s protected by our terms of service and we don’t share it without your permission. Connecting your GitHub identity to a Microsoft account will not give Microsoft access to your code.

  • To sign up for an Azure free account, all you need is a phone number, a credit or debit card, and a GitHub account or Microsoft account username (formerly Windows Live ID). Create your Azure free account

  • With GitHub identity support, you can use your existing GitHub account in place of a Microsoft account on Azure and other Microsoft sites. Learn more

  • You can manage the connection between your GitHub account and Microsoft account on the personal settings page under the Applications tab.