If my deployed instance says “stopped”, am I still being billed?

Maybe. If the status says “Stopped (Deallocated)”, you aren’t being billed. If it says “Stopped Allocated”, you’re still being billed for allocated virtual cores (not the software licence itself). Full details on virtual machine states are available here. StateBilledDetails| | |Starting|Yes|The initial starting state of virtual machines as they’re going through the boot cycle. This period is billed as the virtual machines are running.| |Running (Started)|Yes|The running state of the virtual machine.| |Stopped|Yes|You are billed for allocated cores, but not software licences. Note: To put a virtual machine in “Stopped” status, use the power option within the virtual machine, not from the Microsoft Azure classic portal.| |Deleted (Deallocated)|No|Cores are no longer allocated to the virtual machine, and are no longer billed. Note: The only way to stop all virtual machines in a cloud service is to delete both the staging and production deployments.|

Virtual Machines

Related questions and answers

  • A temporary disk is storage that’s attached directly to the deployed VM. Data on a temporary disk is lost once the VM is shut down. If you need persistent storage, there are a number of types and sizes of persistent data disks available, which are charged for separately. Please see storage pricing for information. For persistent VM storage, we recommend that you use Managed Disks to take advantage of better management features, scalability, availability and security.

  • Yes, through licence mobility, if you have Software Assurance you can “bring your own licence” for all Virtual Machines-supported server products.

  • Learn how to configure auto-scale.