Skip to main content

Cloud SOLID: Cloud architecture and the single responsibility principle

Published: 10/07/2017

First introduced in 2003 by Robert “Uncle Bob” Martin, SOLID principles are a set of prescriptive guidelines that can help developers write code that is easy to comprehend, maintain, and test.

SOLID is a mnemonic device used to help remember these five principles:
  • Single responsibility principle 
  • Open/closed principle 
  • Liskov substitution principle 
  • Interface segregation principle 
  • Dependency inversion principle 

Authored by Casey Watson from the Azure Customer Advisory Team (AzureCAT), this whitepaper examines how you can use the single responsibility principle to build Azure cloud architecture that is highly maintainable.